WWDC 2012 Keynote Scheduled For June 11; Get Ready For iOS 6



Apple has today issued media invitations for a keynote media event on June 11 at the World Wide Developer Conference, scheduled to be held in the Moscone Center in San Francisco (via The Loop). While the company has not revealed the speaker of the keynote, it will likely fall to Apple CEO Tim Cook to deliver the address, as was afforded to Apple founder and previous CEO Steve Jobs.  The keynote will kick off at 10am PST (1pm EST, 6pm GMT).

The keynote is where Apple will likely give out a little more information on the release schedule for OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion. However, the company could also deliver the first ever public glimpse of the next generation operating system for iOS devices, iOS 6. A few other announcements are also expected, such as the unveiling of an entirely new Mac line-up consisting of a Retina Display enabled iMac, as well as a redesigned, thinner Macbook Pro, also with Retina Display.

The company also released an official iOS app for the WWDC, giving people who will be attending the conference information on the sessions that will be running throughout the week. The app is free and available in the App Store for anybody who wants it.  There is also a guide posted on the Apple Developer website for registered members.

What else could potentially be unveiled?  Well, if you live in hope, then the company could also be offering a look at the aging iWork software for Mac, which hasn’t received a major update in a long, long time.  Whatever happens, we’ll be live-blogging the keynote and, of course, expecting great things.

Glimpse…

Also on AppleBitch.com:

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.